GetUpside Gas App Review – Get Up To 50¢ Off Per Gallon (Restaurants Added)

Update 4/30/21: new code Shopper20 – 20 cents on the next 4!

Update 2/29/21: New code: Now through 2/21/21, use promo code 21FOR21 to get a 21¢/gal bonus. That’s an extra 21¢ on top of whatever great offer you find. Hat tip to ieatdogfood

Update 12/31/20: Some extra promo codes (stackable):

  • UPSIDE7 7 cents extra
  • 20K20 20 cents extra
  • 20KSECOND. 5 cents extra
  • 20KPROMO. 5 cents extra
  • INSTACART20. 20 cents extra next 4
  • DOORDASH20. 20 cents extra next 4

Hat tip to reader Bill

Update 12/8/20: Looks like restaurants have been added as well. I’m sure this is powered by another back end, just not sure who powers it yet. Hat tip to reader Craig P

Update 9/24/20: Some extra promo codes (work for new and existing users, stacks with referral for new users):

  • 20K20 – 20 cents/gal off – expires 10/31
  • 20Kpromo – 5 cents/gal off – expires 10/31
  • Upside7 – 7 cents/gal off – no expiration

Hat tip to reader ieatdogfood

Update 5/17/20: Seems to be available in most states now, but not Wisconsin.

Update 5/16/20: You can get a $10 bonus when signing up through a referral. Person referring doesn’t get anything. You can find a referral by clicking here. Hat tip to Onsale

 

Upside Review

Using the app is fairly easy:

  • Open the app
  • Select an offer (the screen shows you both the price per gallon and the discount)
  • Pay with your regular credit card and take a picture of your receipt
  • Upload picture to Upside

upside-gas

Within a day or so of uploading the receipt, you’ll see the cash back available in your Upside account. You can cash out via check or Paypal. Check payments have a $5 minimum while Paypal cash out has no minimum. I was able to cash out a small ~$1 balance without a hitch.

Upside Credit

Aside from cash back on gas purchases at these gas stations, Upside also gives you a credit toward future purchases at the gas station location. These Upside Credits are more generous than the actual cash back discount, BUT they are much more restrictive in use and can be used only for specific items or services at the gas station. You might be able to use the credit for an oil change, for example.

The app will dictate on which goods or services the Credit can be used. After purchasing the specific item, you’ll upload a receipt of that purchase and then the Upside Credit will turn into real cash back via Paypal or a check.

A recent purchase of mine at a Sunoco gas station got me 8¢ cash back per gallon on around 6-gallon purchase for a total of $.48 back, plus I got 25¢ per gallon in Upside Credit for a total Credit of $1.50. The app gives me two options for using up the $1.50 credit: 1) get the $1.50 back as a rebate on an oil change, 2) purchase goods at the gas station convenience store and get 20% off the purchase by submitting the receipt. (Tobacco and gift cards are excluded.)

Pay careful attention to the cash back numbers you see in the app: the standard earnings are literally cash back, but the Upside Credit earnings have much more limited use, as noted.

Final Thoughts

Uploading receipts is always a pain. In this case, if you use a lot of gas and have a big tank, it could be worthwhile to use the app and get a couple dollars off each fill up. If you are able to easily use up the Upside Credit too (e.g. you regularly buy food items or do oil changes at your local gas station), the value proposal is much more.

They also have a business facing website that’s quite interesting if you’re into reading about their business model.

If you live in one of the participating states, I’d love to hear your feedback about the app in the comments. Is it worth the download or is it mostly just overpriced stations offering non competitive discounts?

Please do not share your referral codes in this post. Instead use this linked post.

Hat tip to Maximizing Money for making me aware of this app.

Post history:

Update 1/12/20: Some stations no longer require you to upload a receipt. They are identified by a blue lightning bolt next to them. Hat tip to FM

Update 12/30/19: All gas offers are at least 10¢/gal until 11:59 pm EST 12/31. Hat tip to reader Gadget

Update 12/16/19: Referral bonus has been increased to $7

Update 9/20/19: Another 1,200 stations have been added to TX & GA. Georgia is a new state as far as I’m aware. Hat tip to FM

Update 7/2/19: Another 1,000 stations have been added to the Midwest. Hat tip to FM

Update 3/25/19: Existing users can get an additional 7¢ off per gallon with promo code UPSIDE7. Looks like it only works for users that have used the app successfully/submitted receipt before it can be applied. Details on applying it can be found in this comment. Thanks to reader Gadget.

Update 1/6/19: Now available in more states, they have also expanded the number of gas stations they partner with. Hat tip to reader Gadget.

Upside is an app that allows you to get cash back on gas you purchase at select stations. They currently only have stations in the following locations: MD, VA, NY, NC, SC, DE, FL, TX, MI, WI, MO and DC.

upside-gas

[Updated 4/20/17]

254
Leave a Reply

avatar
 

  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
A M
A M

I drive a Tesla, need a GetUpside for electric charging lol

Erick
Erick

I can’t figure out where to put the code in. I’m not a new customer.

Davis
Davis

Three horizontal lines at top left, profile, edit whatever promo code you had before with the new one

Scottie
Scottie

Will it take multiple codes?

Davis
Davis

Yes, type them in one at a time.

Baked
Baked

Davis thanks very much

Erick
Erick

Thank You

Abby
Abby

“Update 4/30/21: new code Shopper20 – 20 cents on the next 4!”

I’m new to GetUpSide does this mean .20 cents additional on the next 4 gallons or? William Charles

Davis
Davis

Yes you can stack a bunch of codes.

Baked
Baked

Davis is How ? Do you use a comma or a space between promo codes in “profile” / “promo code” ? Elsewhere ?

Davis
Davis

Delete the current one and put in a new one. I’ve gotten 123, 61, 71, and 63 cents/gallon off before (stack with Dosh). The map in the app will tell you how much you can get off and you’ll see that it can get quite big.

Baked
Baked

Davis Thanks, wouldn’t have guessed. Fairly counterintuitive, to delete a code and still get a benefit from it even after adding a new one.

Davis
Davis

You can look at old posts on this thread and see other DPs of people stacking.

Davis
Davis

Sorry, you get (an additional) 20 cents/gallon cashback the next 4 times you fill up.

Vy
Vy

Does anyone who lives near a Costco gas station use this?

Holly
Holly

I use this app every time I fill up and I always pay at the pump and go inside to get my receipt if you can’t print the receipt at the pump and if for some reason they don’t track it. I Stack it with my oxygen debit card for 5% cashback at any gas station. I have used it at BP, shell, and Circle K here in Alabama. Then I also take a picture of the receipt and upload it to the trunow app and get a little bit more cash back.

Davis
Davis

What’s trunow?

Phill
Phill

From reading the reviews on trunow…..you don’t want it

tuphat
tuphat

FWIW, I will stick with Gas Buddy.

Daniel
Daniel

Can you not do both?

Christoph R
Christoph R

No. The backend is run by the same company. I tried and emailed and that’s what they told me

Bill
Bill

NEW PROMO CODE: Shopper20 – 20 cents on the next 4! Enjoy everyone!

Davis
Davis

Thanks. Worked for me. William Charles

Davis
Davis

Referral bonus is $11.11 now until May 19

Ali
Ali

$7.77 for me.

Davis
Davis

I got an email telling me mine had been increased to $11.11 but maybe it varies by person.

J
J

Does anyone actually get the full cash back? I’ve used this app for two times now and feel scammed because offers claim that I get >$1 cash back per gal and I end up only getting manual cash back from customer support of barely $1-2 both time. I feel incredibly cheated for using this app. I’d love to know if anyone else had similar experiences.

SDubbs
SDubbs

Yep. My most recent fill up was 106 cents per gallon off and got ~$14 back.

Davis
Davis

William Charles the referral bonus is now $20 and 1 cent per gallon for the person referring. The referred person gets extra 15 cents per gallon off as usual